All good things come to those…

Standard

It’s difficult to plan things in life when uncertainty abounds. Yet, that’s what we have to do – we need to plan and we need to accept uncertainty. It’s a Catch 22 isn’t it?

The situation for me at the moment reduces my mind to a mess. The inner workings of my brain, if represented diagrammatically, would look a little something like this:

Essentially, I have to secure a job in Berlin (preferably as an English Teacher), and only then can I even think of applying for a Visa. The process for members of other countries is slightly easier as they’re allowed to apply for a Visa and look for a job from within Germany. However, because I’m a member of a non-EU country, I may only apply from within the borders of my country – this complicates matters.

It means that I have to apply for a job from South Africa and hope someone wants me badly enough so as to wait for me to then apply for the Visa, wait for it to be granted, then hop on to a plane, and start working.

So far I’ve done all I can do. I’ve sent my CV out to over 40 schools. Some have replied, saying I should come in for an interview (…urm…but I’m in South Africa…), and others have said they don’t have any vacancies at present but will keep my details on their system in case something pops up.

It’s this uncertainty – not knowing whether I’ll get that special call/e-mail that will make it possible for me to finally apply for a Visa – that makes this process so difficult. On the good days, I’m positive about it. On the bad days, I’m not.

But it’s a journey, isn’t it? And it’s a true test of faith.

“For the Lord your God fights for you, just as He has promised. So love the Lord your God.” – Joshua 23:9-10

It’s tough, but I’ve simply got to continue believing that He’s working something out for me, even if I can’t see it now…

Leave a Reply

