Give. Me. Coffee.

Standard

Although I consider myself to be a morning person, I wouldn’t say I particularly like getting up in the morning. In fact, the snooze button and I have quite a good relationship – as soon as my alarm goes off, I snooze it for exactly 9 minutes (my alarm’s default is 9…quite a random number, no?), but then, instead of spending the next 9 minutes sleeping, I spend it calculating how many more times I can snooze it and still get away with not being late for work.

It’s a rather complicated calculation, much like those we did in Maths class at school. “Jane has to leave the house at 6.15am in order to get to work on time. The snooze facility on her alarm is set to 9 minutes and it takes her 20 minutes to get showered and dressed. If Jane’s alarm goes off at 5.30am and she snoozes it 6 times, will she be late for work?

Anyway. This morning I managed to snooze more than normal and yet still got out of the house on time – and no, I’ve not compromised what I look like…I still added some make-up and at least brushed my hair.

And now I’m sitting at my little, brown cubicle, typing away, and sipping coffee from my (large) cup. The weather in Cape Town has been great over the past few days – sunshine all around – makes you wish you didn’t have to sit indoors and work, work, work. How wonderful would it be if working hours were from 9am – 3pm, and you could actually do stuff after work and enjoy the last few hours of the sunshine! I really should start a revolution!

Oh well, whatever. My coffee’s getting cold and my tummy’s starting to grumble – apparently it’s not happy because I haven’t eaten anything yet and it’s been awake for 2.5 hours already. But before I go make my breakfast, I need to test how alert my brain is – I want to know that I’m still clever and can function at optimal levels in the morning…to do this, I’ll use this little quiz – try it for yourself –

http://www.allthetests.com/tests/smart.php3

The results of this quiz, for me, indicate that it’s going to be a loooong day! But at least I have my friend La ( 🙂 ) back at work, so it will be far more bearable! Ok, it’s time for my third cup of coffee…

2 responses »

  1. HahaaHa! Having a silly day are we?? 🙂 At least silly is better than frustrated. I got 5 in the test… even got the Moses one wrong! haha!

Leave a Reply

