Much like the White Rabbit

Standard

It hasn’t really hit me yet that next Wednesday will be my last day at work, as an on-site writer. Next Thursday I’ll wake up and (hopefully) realise that I’m officially an off-site writer and that within another week I’ll be in Berlin looking for employment, so that I may have the opportunity to follow my dream and finally be in the same country as the man I love.

So many things have been filling up my head – that’s why I haven’t really given much thought to the fact that next Wednesday is fast-approaching. One of the things that bugs me the most is having to meet with potential employers when I arrive in Berlin. Ok, it’s normal to be apprehensive about interviews and such, right? But every morning when I wake up, it’s the first thing I think about and I automatically get a lump in my throat. And like clockwork, I say a little prayer, asking that I be released from this silly fear…or at least…just learn how to deal with it appropriately.

With 1001 things to plan, do, organise and sort out, I resemble the Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland, though I like to think I look a little less frazzled and slightly prettier 🙂

But in the midst of the mind storm that currently exists in my head, I’m often reminded by others about the excitement that lies ahead. “You’re so lucky, you’re following your dream,” “I wish I was you!”, “Everything will work out, it’s going to be awesome”. They’re probably surprised by the fact that I haven’t realised any of this yet – usually my reply is “Oh yes…yes…you’re right.” I guess I’m just too stuck in the nitty gritty things at the moment – and I let myself get far too weighed down by the daily occurrences of life. I was reminded of that this morning when I received my Word for the Day, which read as such:

“Here is your word for today:

Verse:           Luke 21:34

But take heed to yourselves (be careful) and be on your guard, lest your hearts be overburdened and depressed (weighed down) with the cares of this life.

– Life has many opportunities to get us down.
– The cares of life can become a heavy burden.
– You must not become overburdened and depressed.
– God wants you to give Him all your cares.

PRAYER: Lord, help me to not allow things to get on top of me. Help me to stand in the confidence I have in You. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

