The job-hunting front

Standard

Ah, I forgot to update you on the job-hunting front and my progress in getting my Bootytoberlin! (Perhaps the air here is causing all this forgetfulness?)

Well, you see I had a plan – I was going to do X and then Y was going to happen. But that’s just it – life never works out that way. It’s not like you can be 120,000,000% sure what’s going to happen tomorrow, today…in the next second. Out of nowhere *BAM* things just pop up and you have to deal with them as best as you can. If they’re good things, then they’re easy to deal with; if they’re not good things, then it becomes a little more difficult.

And it’s been a life lesson for me – here I am, 27 years old, sitting in an apartment in Berlin. A few months ago I planned to be here, but those months were full of uncertainties, unexpected occurences – stuff that sometimes sent me into a complete mind wobble and emotional wobble, and threatened to throw me completely off course. But nonetheless, I’m here.

Well, another unexpected thing happened with regards to my job hunting. Out of the blue last week I was offered a job – one that I hadn’t physically applied for – but in my heart I’d been asking God something along the lines of “God…it’s this job that I’d really, really like…the doors that this opens to me are wonderful and I have peace in my heart about doing this job.” And I got it – mine for the taking; the offer lay in front of me in black and white…and in German, so I couldn’t understand it completely, but that’s where a German boyfriend comes in handy 😉

And this is exactly what I mean when I say you can plan, plan, plan all you want, but that doesn’t create certainty. I guess, as humans, we want certainty – we want to know how things will work out so that we can decide whether or not we’ll actually do something. “Ah, that’s what’s going to happen if I do that…not so nice, so I’m going to avoid it.” Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way 🙂

The uncertainty remains for me now though and this really is a time of maintaining faith. I got the job, but it’s not up to my prospective employers whether or not I’m permitted to move my booty to Berlin. It’s up to the Government. So what I need to do now is take all the papers my prospective employers have filled in, hand them to some Government official and pray like crazy that I’ve landed an appointment with the official on a good day!

I’m tempted to say that the next major step in my life is dependant on that Government official – but is it really or am I missing the point in a big way. As a follower of Christ, I believe that my life is in His hands – so surely, it’s up to Him what happens?

Well for now, it’s just a matter of praying, praying and…praying! 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I agree with Just Frances! EVERY person back home in SA is praying for this to work out! You’ve come this far – do not give up! Pray and believe! Love you!

Leave a Reply

