A Dream-chaser

Standard

I was speaking to a friend today* and asked her how she’s doing with her dream of becoming a full-time photographer. She said it’s going, but the going is a little slow. And then it just struck me – (you know how it is, sometimes you have lightbulb moments and you sprout the most awesome stuff forth) – the whole dream-chasing thing…she asked me to share on my blog what I shared with her, so that’s what I’m doing.

Basically, I told her that chasing a dream is like cooking an awesome meal – it takes time and that takes patience.  Sure, you can rush through the whole process, but that’s not going to produce a meal that’s as good as what it could be. You need to be patient and you need to go through the process, until eventually, you have the end product. And that end product will be superb 🙂

Yeah I know, easier said than done, but it’s just a thought – use it, don’t use it.

The other thing I thought I’d mention in my post today is a silly story about rainbows. Well not a story really, but it just shows how daft we can be sometimes. This almost reminds me of my silliness with the Lines in the Sky. It’s become pretty apparent to me that here in Berlin you can have all 4 seasons in one day 20 minutes. On my way to one of the U-Bahn’s today, I removed my jacket because it was too hot, and within a few minutes, it was pouring with rain and there was thunder and lightning. Yeah, odd. Anyhoo – my point was about rainbows (which appear often because of the frequent Summer showers) – every time I see one, I giggle to myself because I’m reminded of how, as a little girl, I confused myself. You see, remember the whole story with the flood and Noah’s ark? Well, I always thought that in the Bible, God had said that the rainbow means it will never rain again. LOL! 😀 So every time I saw a rainbow, I thought, “But it just rained…I just don’t get it?!” And then one day I realised (I’m not sure how) that I’d got it all soooo wrong. He didn’t say it wouldn’t rain again, he just said “When I gather the clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will recall the Covenant between myself and you and every living creature of every kind. And so the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all things of flesh.” (Genesis 9:14-15).”

See how we sometimes get things completely mixed up?!

Yeah, you can laugh, I won’t hold it against you 😉

*Don’t you just love it how you can email someone on the other side of the world and still call it ‘speaking’? (Or is it just me who thinks this way?!)

Leave a Reply

