My morning cup of coffee

Standard

My alarm clock’s gone off so it must be 6.15am. I’m tired and all I feel like doing is snoozing the alarm for another two hours, turning over, and cuddling in the warmth of my duvet a little more. I think it’ll be cold today because I can hear the rain pounding at my window. That makes the urge to stay in bed even stronger.

But I need to get up – he’ll be waiting for me. It’ll soon be time for us to meet for our morning cup of coffee. As I lie in my bed I think back to when our daily coffee dates started, more than a year ago. At first, I didn’t know if what I was doing was right and I never really had much to say to him. So we’d just sit there in silence, watching the sun rise, seeing people get ready for the day laying ahead of them. But we started to feel more comfortable with one another as time passed on and I started talking to him more about all sorts of things. Sometimes the conversations didn’t make sense, sometimes they did. He never seemed to be bothered though – it was almost as if he just enjoyed the fact that I was there every morning, as I’d promised I’d be.

I peek at the clock – it’s 6.19. I really should be getting out of bed. He’s always on time and I’m usually the one who’s late. But he doesn’t care, he just likes the fact that I rock up. I don’t even have to put make-up on or wear something fancy, which is a great relief, considering how awful I look at this time of the morning. I finally manage to slip out from beneath the duvet and I can feel the cold air biting at my toes. I find it so much harder to get up early in Winter, though admittedly it takes a while during the Summer months too.

I wonder what we’ll talk about today. There are a few things on my mind I’d like to run by him – I’ve grown to value his opinion. I never valued it in the beginning, only because I never really understood it….or understood him. But I’ve made it a priority to find out as much about him as I possibly can. He fascinates me. I never really used to hear him talk but I think that’s because I never listened very well. My heart just wasn’t open to the things he was saying, so my ears were closed too. I got to the stage where I was just concerned with what I wanted to say – what I needed to talk about – what was bothering me. I’m ashamed to admit it now, but I didn’t care much for what he had to say.

But he’s been patient and he’s still continued to meet with me every day. No matter how cold or how early it is – he waits for me.

I walk to the kitchen and switch the kettle on. I take my favourite cup from the cupboard and decide on Mocha Java as today’s blend. For a moment I wonder what his favourite blend would be. As I place my cup on the table, I open my Bible at the page I marked yesterday. I read Isaiah 12:2 – “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song!

And so my morning cup of coffee with God begins…

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

