Looking back

Standard

It’s amazing what you’ll find in your old dusty journals that have been banished to a box that’s stuffed in an obscure corner of a cupboard you never open. I found a journal I’d used to make notes for my daily Bible study/readings, and opened it up on a random page. And there, written in big, bold letters were two words, with associated explanations:

Hupomone – Greek for ‘perseverance’; patience or endurance in difficult circumstances

Anecho – The Greek word for ‘endure’; to patiently wait

God gives the believer inner strength to enable him to be steadfast, to patiently wait in the midst of difficult circumstances.

Ok right, well didn’t those seemingly random words scribbled in my journal over a year ago speak straight to me when I read them today! I’m becoming increasingly frustrated with the process surrounding my Visa application and my emotions ebb and flow from negative to positive – changing almost as often as I change my underwear! And somewhere amongst those emotional fluctuations, I just want to reach out with my hand and grab a branch that’s sticking out of the swirling mass of nonsense that threatens to engulf me. Just so that I can stay afloat and catch a breather.

As I gather the little, but important, bits of paper that I need to hand in with my application, I often feel a tightness in my chest because of the fear I have for the outcome of all of this. It’s almost been a year since I made the decision to move to Germany, and all I’m wanting now is resolution – some sort of conclusion.

But as I was reminded today, God gives the believer inner strength to enable him to be steadfast, to patiently wait in the midst of difficult circumstances.

Leave a Reply

