Well you gotta have….

Standard

The human mind really is a mean machine, don’t you think? It can present so many challenges and it’s so easily developed on the foundations of wrong thinking, confusion, misunderstandings, lies, and misconceptions. No wonder it gets us into so much trouble!

I’ve been so challenged lately…and continue to be challenged…by various truths about the mind and its power. I’m finding myself having to undo years and years of wrong thinking – untangling knots and webs that have been created without me even realizing it. Hey, but at least I’m realizing there’s some untangling to do – so give me some credit! 🙂

What I was challenged with today however – upon pondering the mind – is the issue of faith. I’ll be the first person to admit that I don’t fully comprehend what faith is…true faith.

According to some dictionary entries, faith is:

– Firm belief in something for which there is no proof; complete trust
– Something that is believed especially with strong conviction

Aaaand according to Hebrews 11:1:

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see (NIV), or

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see (NLT)

Well, I’m not sure about you, but I have two reactions when I read that verse. (1) I feel relieved and have a “phew!” moment; and (2) I think…WHOA! That’s hectic!

As I read today, the mind seeks to understand everything – the how, what, when and why. But it’s not always the case that we know the how, what, when or why and that’s when faith really needs to kick in – kind of like the manner in which a Red Bull kicks in when you’re functioning on 2 hours of sleep – only with faith…the effects should be longer-lasting, and not simply enough to get you by for a few hours.

Well, I’m not sure about you, but this is a real challenge to me. Believing, no matter what, that things will work out; that all is ok; that all will be ok; that better days are ahead; that there’s a plan into which we’re ultimately factored; that…that…that…you know?! And sure, I often feel ‘bad’ about my lack of faith – but honestly, pish to that! It takes time, and it’s not fair to myself to think that I’m an idiot for not getting it 100%, or for having days where I’m still a fumbling mess. But I guess it’s my prayer that at some point, I reach that place of being able to simply smile, rest and ‘know’ it’s all ok, because…I have FAITH! 🙂

Leave a Reply

