An upside-down frown

Standard

I’m currently reading three books, (1) Battlefield of the Mind – Joyce Meyer, (2) Living Beyond Your Feelings – Joyce Meyer, and (3) Splashes of Joy in the Cesspools of Life – Barbara Johnson. (Notice a pattern?)

Anyway, I’m reading these books in an attempt to be proactive…because…the best thing to do when you hit a pothole in life is to remain proactive and attempt to move out of the pothole in first gear (and then subsequently increase your gear change as you continue down the road…but I’m still in the pothole – though closer to getting out than I was before…but I digress!)

These books are extremely helpful and I’d be the first to recommend them to anyone. A main theme that runs through all three books is the theme of attitude and choice and how we need to choose how we feel, react, think, etc. Easier said than done, I know – but it works (even though it’s a slow process – reprogramming the mind isn’t something that happens in the blink of an eye – if only!) Now with choosing your attitude and reactions and thoughts, comes the act of choosing to smile. This is something I’ve known about for a long time – before reading these books – and it’s something that really does work as well. I’m not sure what it is about the act of smiling that makes it so effective, but it really does help. In fact, there are some interesting facts about the effect of a smile.

It is a challenge and it’s not easy. As humans, we prefer to frown or give a half-hearted smile, but once we realise the power of the upside-down frown, things really can get a little lighter. (Though here I’d ask my friends and family please not to hold this blog post again me when next I frown…).

So the next time someone gives you a smile and you think they’re completely crazy because there’s really nothing to smile about…just think – they may be feeling completely differently on the inside, but choosing to overcome that…

A smile is like tight underwear – it makes your cheeks go up.  ~Author Unknown

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

